The Art of Communication

Recently, my English class all sat in class with Google Chrome books and had an online twitter chat together. At first, I found it strange because we were all communicating while staring at a computer screen. My initial thoughts were that we had been turned into zombies who were incapable of actually having human interaction.

Full length of young men and women holding cellphone

Teens receive criticism for becoming too focused with technology. Videos are always made about the importance of unplugging and viewing what life has to offer outside of a screen.

I don’t disagree with any of this; I believe it is very true that we have to take moments in life tech-free and appreciate what is around us.

However, to what point should we take this? I struggle with putting my ideas into writing. I often become horribly distracted by my own thoughts and go off on tangents that lead me to different places. My English papers are often destroyed by red ink, with my teachers telling me to stay on track with my writing. It is easier with spoken words to head in different directions without being punished. It is acceptable to think of different things while you are talking and mention them.

It is for this reason that I really believe that having online communications is under-appreciated. It is a skill to be able to express all of your thoughts in written words. Online discussions demand this of people. It demands people to actually put thought into what they are saying.

I’m not saying I enjoy this. I’m just saying I think it’s a good thing. I’m hoping that eventually it will pay off and get easier. But for now, I at least hope this blog post makes sense.

Leave a Reply

